On Being a Zombie

Mexican Zombies!

Yesterday, I was a zombie for the Mexico City Zombie Walk. With a shirt bloodied from last week’s Halloween party* and a face bloodied with Warner Brothers’ sangre artificial,  I headed out to the Monument to the Revolution with around 15 thousand other walking corpses**. I think we broke a world record.

I have to tell you: it was amazing! I have LARPed before, but always had difficulty getting out of my own head and into that of the character. Being a mindless zombie, however, I forgot all about me and who I was and just got into scaring the shit out of passersby. Once we arrived at the Zocalo, I just stayed in character and hunted down randoms to scare. Dozens of people wanted their photos taken with me and of me, and I thoroughly scared plenty of people – particularly as it got darker.

Photos of me from the day can be found here. Hopefully I’ll find more from other people later.

Thanks to Maria for the pic, and Alex for the brains.

Two words of warning if you’re planning to do the same thing.

  • All my muscles hurt this morning. You have no idea. By holding one arm limp, head to one side and dragging one foot behind me, I’ve thoroughly irritated my whole body. Seriously, I walk like a zombie today purely because all of the muscles that usually work together to create locomotion really don’t want to cooperate.
  • I caught a 10 year old trying to pick my pocket, while hand in hand with his role-model father. Just keep an eye on your stuff when you’re partying in the Zocalo or Garibaldi. It’s the first time it’s happened to me, but I’ve always known it goes on. Just be careful is all.

This is not to put anyone off doing something like this, though, and it’s certainly not a comment on Mexico. You get 10-20 thousand people anywhere in the world and you’re going to get your fair share of arseholes, Fagins and opportunists. Just be smart about it and have as many ridiculous experiences as you can. That’s what I do. Happy Halloween and feliz Dia Los Muertos!

* I took it to the laundrette, and it was returned to me medical-waste-like in a separate baggie. I don’t think the laundry ladies were too impressed. Below is a picture from that Halloween party. I had to shave off that goatee to get all the fake blood out. Totally worth it.

The guy on the right is Drew: getting his priorities straight while I pose in the background.

** Estimates vary depending on the news outlet you choose. Apparently 10k registered plus those who didn’t.

Leave a Reply

